J[A-Z]Z / p1ck ( Johnny Griffin | The Congregation, 1958

AVvXsEibn58GBiC73wHt1icW JPwgqF2HLUCZX9SYUuVB2RVjV38WroeL12MKaIUREYcJynS OlbIyGGoTgRbK0aPFrc8nXbzo7OwmsqWR qRyAZzuPe4jLybWGrNLa0h1Y I0Fgd8IbClqnHIo5BKkE8V2L3OLF4U9d72V3qB0 2wNPDnOtIu3Rhs03LD27=w640 h640
Johnny Griffin | The Congregation, 1957

Design:  Reid Miles / Illustration: Andy Warhol

Photography: Francis Wolff
Johnny Griffin Quartet – The Congregation
Recorded at Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey
on October 23, 1957
Released: March 1958
Johnny Griffin – tenor saxophone
Sonny Clark – piano
Paul Chambers – bass
Kenny Dennis – drums
“The great tenor saxophonist Johnny Griffin is heard in top form on this
 near-classic quartet set… It’s recommended for bop collectors.”
 AllMusic review by Scott Yanow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *